Freaky Friday: Is It Quitting Time Yet?

Posted on July 1, 2011

0


Amanda Gunter

If you’re like me you’re probably not feeling very motivated on this lovely Friday before the holiday weekend. I tried to find topics to post about for Freaky Friday but somehow in my searches kept coming around to funny and lightheartd topics…

Without further ado here’s a few posts I found that should help you count down to 5pm.

  • If you like a “good” bad joke, this is a great post and blog. Blogger Dorothy Sliwicki starts with: “After arriving for an early morning interview, a job seeker asked to use the hiring manager’s phone. She then faked a coughing fit as she called in sick to her boss. (At least she called.)”
  • I know filling out job applications sucks, but here’s some funny responses for job applications found on the My Personal Corner blog.
  • Another blog I’ve often enjoyed is Post It Notes From My Idiot Boss  but I must warn you that it is a huge time suck. As for more of a description, I think the name says it all.
  • And because I like to think of myself as a blonde less successful Tina Fey I’ve included my most recent article on The Y Mightier entitled “The Rules of Interviewing are Changing”.

Hopefully these posts will get you through your day and don’t forget to have a happy 4th of July Weekend!

Around May of 2010 after a dramatic rise in the ranks at her previous company Amanda realized that although she was good at her job, it wasn’t necessarily a good fit. Scoffing at the safety net her job provided, she quit in November 2010 and moved to North Carolina to chase her dream in the Tar Heel State. That was when the cold hand of reality slapped her across the face and she came to the realize just how little she knew about finding a fulfilling career. Armed with nothing more than a bad resume and the internet, Amanda tackled every resource she could get her hands on to wrangle her career search into submission. She’s not there yet, but everyday is closer than the day before. 

Connect with Amanda:  Blog   |  Twitter  |   Facebook  |   LinkedIn  |   Brazen Careerist   | 

 

Posted in: Freaky Friday