Are you there, Job? It’s me, Amanda: Overwhelmed? Break it down

Posted on June 22, 2011

1


Amanda Gunter

Searching for a job is a long arduous journey and if you’re like me you often feel helpless, overwhelmed and hopeless. You apply and wait, you network and hope to hear back from contacts and at the end of the day you feel like you got nothing accomplished.

Nothing could be farther from the truth, just think about the whole process of finding and getting a job. It takes time and each of the steps below can take weeks.

  1. Apply
  2. Phone Interview
  3. In Person Interview
  4. 2nd In Person Interview
  5. Background/Drug/Credit Check
  6. Offer!!!

That’s a lot to take on, which is why I’ve started breaking down the process. Instead of thinking about all the hoops I’m going to have to jump through, I think about what I can do to either skip steps or what I can do to get me to step 6.

Lately the phrase “Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country” keeps going through my head (not sure why) but instead I’ve changed it to “What have you done for your job search?”

This phrase reminds me that everyday I need to do something, no matter how small to get me to that next position. Sometimes I blog or comment on someone else’s blog, sometimes I network and sometimes all I have the energy to do is send out a few e-mails to friends and contacts asking about opportunities.

Searching for a career is a full time job and it’s easy to become overwhelmed. When tackling something huge, like a career change, it’s best to take baby steps. I know that I’m probably not going to be a full fledged graphic designer or CEO of a fortune 500 company tomorrow, but as long ask I keep working towards my goal of changing my career and improving myself, opportunities will present themselves and eventually I’ll get to step number 6.

 

Around May of 2010 after a dramatic rise in the ranks at her previous company Amanda realized that although she was good at her job, it wasn’t necessarily a good fit. Scoffing at the safety net her job provided, she quit in November 2010 and moved to North Carolina to chase her dream in the Tar Heel State. That was when the cold hand of reality slapped her across the face and she came to the realize just how little she knew about finding a fulfilling career. Armed with nothing more than a bad resume and the internet, Amanda tackled every resource she could get her hands on to wrangle her career search into submission. She’s not there yet, but everyday is closer than the day before. 

Connect with Amanda:  Blog   |  Twitter  |   Facebook  |   LinkedIn  |   Brazen Careerist   | 

